Slippery Stones and the Righteous Rock

There is a hilarious Japanese game show called MXC (I think it stands for Most Extreme Challenge). This show is about regular people trying to complete a ridiculous obstacle course. A lot of times the contestants will have to cross a body of water by jumping on these little stones, and most of the time they slip and fall into the water in some awkward fashion, hitting their head on the way down. I know this sounds like only a sadistic person would watch this but it is really very funny!

Well, as I was praying and reading the bible this morning God put the parable in my head about building your house on the rock (Matthew 7:24-27) even though I was reading through Romans. I like this bit of scripture a lot, partly because I like any kind of teaching that gives a great visual metaphor, and as I was pondering these words that Jesus spoke the image that kept coming to my mind was a scene strait out of MXC. I saw myself trying to jump onto the rock of God only I couldn’t do it because: 1) The rock was covered in water and was extremely slippery, 2) The rock was really small and I couldn’t land on it and get my balance in time to prevent me from falling and 3) I am not a good jumper and I just was having a hard time making the leap from where I was to this little stone.

God immediately pointed out to me that these are more lies!

God is NOT slippery! God is solid, unchanging and covered in those little gripper things you put on the bottom of a bathtub to prevent you from slipping. I don’t have to worry about sliding off of this Rock, I don’t have to worry about striving and struggling to hang on or climb to the top. It is God who is hanging on to me, and He is not one to let go.

God is NOT small! I don’t have to balance on one foot in some shaky yoga position just to stay on top. I can run around and do jumping jacks and cartwheels (assuming I could actually do a cartwheel) and I am not going to fall off. I can grieve and rejoice and yell and shout and laugh and cry and God can handle it all. God is not a little stone in the middle of a river, he is more like the entire continent of Africa.

God is NOT far away! God is here with me. God is everywhere. I don’t need to leap anymore because I am saved. My life is already on the Rock.

PSALM 71:
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge;
let me never be put to shame!

In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me;
incline your ear to me, and save me!

Be to me a rock of refuge,
to which I may continually come;

you have given the command to save me,
for you are my rock and my fortress.

Rescue me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked,
from the grasp of the unjust and cruel man.

For you, O Lord, are my hope,
my trust, O LORD, from my youth.

Upon you I have leaned from before my birth

HYMN:
1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand

Leave a Reply

