Greater love has no one than this…

In the middle of painting the baby’s room the other day (well Jon did most of the painting, I helped with some trim and “supervised”) I sat down on the bed with a paint brush covered in Benjamin Moore’s “Wild Aster” in my hand and just started crying. I couldn’t believe we were actually at that point. That I was actually painting a nursery. That I was actually going to become a mom and have a real, live baby to take care of. Even after putting together the swing and bouncy seat, filling up the drawers with the cutest little outfits ever made, and having some amazing and generous baby showers; nothing made it seem more real than painting the nursery.

It is amazing how quickly this pregnancy has gone, here I am only 2 weeks away from being full term and I just can’t believe it still. Baby girl is positioned head-down, I am dilated 1 cm, and due to some well-intended peer pressure we are giving up a Saturday of work to attend a childbirth class.

I also have a lot of other things on my mind and heart that are going to serve as great distractors these last few weeks. My school year is pretty much in full swing which means that I am and will be spending most of my days teaching Spanish, training college students, sharing the gospel on the U of A campus and even giving a large group talk for InterVarsity (I have been scheduled to teach at large group four days before my due date…we’ll see what happens!). Oh yeah, and fund raising. We are no where near our goal, but for some odd reason I am not panicking. Has to be the peace of the Lord, there really is no other explanation. On top of all these fun and meaningful ways to fill up my calendar my sister had her baby, beautiful Meredith Grace, on August 10th. Needless to say I have already spent a good hour just looking at her picture and admiring her chubby cheeks and cute little nose.

I will be sure to post a picture of the nursery when it is complete (we are waiting for the crib my dad built for us and the baby) but for now I just wanted to reflect on God’s goodness to us. We studied John 15 at IV staff camp last week and I was once again overwhelmed by how much God loves me, enough to call me his friend, enough to serve me and to call me his daughter. I am looking forward to showing our little girl the Father’s love for her, there is no greater love than His.

9″As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. 14You are my friends if you do what I command. 15I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.

3 thoughts on “Greater love has no one than this…

  1. Unsolicited advice: Enjoy these last few weeks of being pregnant – make time each day to absorb the sensation of a human being living inside of you, squirming and kicking. Make time to stare at your round belly, to daydream about giving birth, and to wonder what she will look like. This time is truly precious! Make sure you savor it! Love you friend! 🙂

    Like

  2. Anonymous

    How exciting! I am so happy for you guys. We will be praying for everything to go smoothly! Isn’t it great to know that our loving God is in control of all things?! Miss you. -Hannah

    Like

Leave a Reply

