Dear Evangeline

On February 21, 2010 your dad and I had you dedicated to the Lord at the Vineyard Christian Community. There has been a steady slue of babies getting dedicated recently and so when it came time for you to be up front, being prayed for, I was so pleased.

Your Grandma McCarty, Aunt Meghan and Cousin Meredith were in attendance, along with some InterVarsity students and our church family. We were sorry that more family members couldn’t be there. I am sorry we live far away from your aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents.

You wore a pretty pink dress with little flowers that was a hand-me-down from the Mills girls, white tights and a pink bow in your hair. You were beautiful.

As I was holding you up in front of the church I thought to myself, “What does this even mean?”

Well, this is what it means to me, darling girl, to have you dedicated to the Lord, and to have a little to-do about it in church:

I am going to try to be the best mom I can be to you. I am going to love you, discipline you, teach you and play with you. I am going to give you every opportunity I can to help you grow, learn, be independent and strong and compassionate. Your dad and I are trying to save a little bit of money here and there for your future. I am going to try to model that a woman’s worth is not in her exterior looks or beauty but in her heart and her love for others. I am going to try to protect you from scary strangers, wild boys and mean girls.

But I am going to fail.

I’m sorry Evangeline, but I am not perfect. And although I only want the very best for you I cannot gaurantee you will always have the best. You will have times of heartbreak, poverty, sickness, worry, and pain. You will experience danger.

But every day, I will dedicate you to the Lord. I will submit control over to God, declaring that I cannot be a perfect parent to you.

But you have a perect Father in God. A perfect friend in Jesus. A perfect Counselor in the Holy Spirit.

I will give up control over your future, over your well-being. Over your happiness. I will intercede for you. Love you. Teach you the wonders and works of our Lord. And ultimately leave you in His hands, because they are far better than mine.

I love you little angel!
your mama

Joshua 24
14 “Now fear the LORD and serve him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the LORD. 15 But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”

3 thoughts on “Dear Evangeline

Leave a Reply

