Undignified

14 Wearing a linen ephod, David was dancing before the Lord with all his might, 15 while he and all Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord with shouts and the sound of trumpets.  When David returned home to bless his household, Michal daughter of Saul came out to meet him and said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, going around half-naked in full view of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!”

And David replied,

22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.

At InterVarsity’s last large group our worship leader invited us to become undignified in our worship of the Lord.  It was a very celebratory time, which in college ministry terms means there was a. lot. of. dancing.  There may or may not have been a conga line and a scene strait out of Bollywood as we worshipped in Hindi.

It is no great challenge to get me (or college students) to dance.  I actually have to contain myself during church services because my body just wants to move.  I am that girl who is always standing with their arms flailing around in the air during worship.  So this dance- party-of-a-college-ministry gathering was joyous and fun and worshipful but, at least for me, not necessarily undignified. 

At our church service last night the worship leader also gave us an invitation to worship with our bodies, yet this time it was an invitation to kneel.

To bow down.

To lower ourselves off of our chairs, onto the floor.

And for all my dancing on campus Thursday night, on Saturday night when my body was perfectly still, my knees bent, skirt bunched up, down on the ground; I felt completely and utterly undignified. I looked around and saw other young ladies in dresses doing the same, older men and women carefully lowering themselves, nicely dressed couples getting Tucson’s dust from the carpet on their clean pants. With my tall stature I am accustomed to hovering over, yet with this new posture I was beneath all.  This was uncomfortable and unnatural.

22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.

In this positional change of my body there I felt a positional change in my heart as I acknowledged Jesus on His throne as King and me  not worthy to stoop down and untie the strap of His sandals.  My sin, incompetence, shame, fear and discomfort all came rushing to the surface of my heart and Jesus met me with forgiveness, power, freedom, peace and contentment.

I love to move and dance and clap and working with young  younger people encourages that in me.  But kneeling down to such an undignified posture of being beneath not only God, but those around me as well, so beautifully and accurately allowed me to express my need and my worship and my love.

Oh Lord, would you bring me to my knees everyday…

 

Leave a Reply

