Why I am giving Miley Cyrus a break

Seeing as how I haven’t watched MTV since the mid-90s (I didn’t really know what was happening in My So-called Life but I sure pretended to…) and don’t know much about Miley Cyrus except that her dad made it possible for me to line dance to Achy Breaky Heart a million times in my living room a couple of decades ago -but I couldn’t help but notice all of this hullabaloo going around the internet regarding her performance at the MtV Music Video Awards.

So, I watched a clip.

Big mistake.

After the confusion and shock I became appalled at the whole thing.  This is what a young girl is choosing to do with women’s liberation?  This is what a beautiful talented woman of means is doing with equal rights?  I almost wrote a blog on that.

But after thinking about it some more I have decided to give Miley Cyrus a break and here is why.

First of all, she has been raised by a culture, in an industry, that LOVES sex.  Songs are about sex.  Commercials are about sex.  TV is about sex.  Movies are about sex.  Dancing is about sex.  Relationships are about sex.  Lots and lots of sex.  SEX.  SEX.  SEX.  Are we really shocked that a pop icon (can I call her that?) would put on such a performance?  She has been brought up by Brittany, and Madonna, and back up dancers that have done essencially the same thing.  Not that this excuses her from making adult decisions, but I think the shock and awe are a bit misplaced.  Really, we’re surprisedd at this?  Really?  

Second of all, the man she was dancing and singing with gets to be fully clothed, also singing a song entirely about hook-up sex (and actually a song I believe perpetuates rape culture) and no one says a thing.  Not. a. word. Not a word!  While Miley gets thrown under the bus.  No one seems to care about his take on ‘Blurred Lines’, naked women, and no one would ever expect him to dance in his underpants.  He gets to maintain his dignity and praise in his performance while the female feels the need to look and dance like a stripper.  Again, not excusing anyone but can we give her a break?

Thirdly, Jesus loves her.  Jesus loves her as much as me.  I have never danced in my underwear on stage on national television (no one wants to see that), I have never done drugs, I have been a good little girl who went into ministry and bakes bread and goes to church.  Yet Jesus loves us the same.  How dare I cast a stone at her?  Jesus loves her with the same love that he loves the stripper at the club, the 12 year old in the brothel, Beth Moore and Mother Theresa.

28 Then, leaving her water jar, the woman went back to the town and said to the people, 29 “Come, see a man who told me everything I ever did. Could this be the Messiah?”

 

Jesus knows everything Miley Cyrus has ever done, just has he knows everything I have ever done and even though my sins have not been aired on MtV they are ever before me.  And he offers me the same living water that he would offer to Miley, that he would offer to the singer of “Blurred lines”.

How thirsty those whose lives are controlled by sex must be.

13 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

 

How thirsty those whose lives are controlled by hypocritical judgement must be.

 Just then his disciples returned and were surprised to find him talking with a woman.

 

There’s lots wrong with our society and our culture and our media and ourselves.

It’s called sin.

And I’ll never excuse sin, although sometimes I try in my own life, but I can give someone a break, in this case I’ll give a break to 20 year old Miley Cyrus.

I am sure when my daughter is in her tween and teen years, if I haven’t already shipped her off to an Amish boarding school, I probably will not allow her to watch the VMAs.

But who knows?  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll have raised a girl who is both strong enough and smart enough and compassionate enough to get up nice and close to the next Miley Cyrus and offer her a drink of water.

4 thoughts on “Why I am giving Miley Cyrus a break

  1. Sarah

    Kirsten, this is perfect. And what a remarkable reminder that Jesus loves her the same as every other woman, even the most revered in the Christian world. Your words are powerful and convicting this morning!

    Like

  2. Cynthia

    Thank you for demonstrating the attitude of the Lord in the situation…GRACE! Far too often what Christians are known for is a judgmental attitude and in so doing harden the hearts of our hearers. Without God’s grace, I could’ve been involved in much the same type of thing. Thinking about it, in God’s eyes, wasn’t my sinfulness equally deserving of His judgment? Fortunately, Grace means Unmerited Favor!!! Thank you, Lord!

    Like

Leave a Reply

